Mesa Energy

Board of Directors

Randy M. Griffin, CEO & Chairman of the Board

Randy M. Griffin is the Chairman of the Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer of Mesa Energy Holdings, Inc. Mr. Griffin’s responsibilities include oversight of the business and administrative activities of our company as well as direction of the ongoing effort to identify, acquire and develop high-quality drilling and production prospects.

From March 2001 until March 2003, Mr. Griffin was associated with a Dallas-based group of companies engaged in oil and gas exploration and development, pipeline development, land management and lease acquisition. During that period, he served as President of Southwest Land Management, L.P., and Americo Gas Pipeline, LLC, where he was responsible for prospect and lease generation, land management and pipeline development. He also served as chief operating officer of an affiliate of those entities, Santa Fe Petroleum, LLC. He was responsible for the development, construction and subsequent sale of a 62-mile natural gas gathering system in Shelby County, Texas, and for the negotiation and closing of the sale of Santa Fe’s natural gas production and undeveloped property in Shelby County, a divestiture valued at just under $30,000,000. In addition, he negotiated the acquisition of Southwest Land Management’s acreage position in Hopkins County, Texas, and coordinated pipeline development and the drilling of a discovery well in that field.

Mr. Griffin brings 35 years of broad business development and management experience to the Company. Prior to his involvement in the oil and gas industry, he was directly responsible for the development, financing and construction of more than $35,000,000 worth of multi-family and senior housing projects. As a result of his work in the senior housing arena, he was elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Texas Assisted Living Association (“TALA”), a statewide senior housing trade association, and served two terms in that capacity. He wrote numerous articles in TALA publications regarding senior housing and healthcare issues, spoke on several occasions at conventions and trade shows, and testified on numerous occasions before state legislative committees regarding senior issues.

Mr. Griffin graduated from East Texas State University in May of 1975 with a degree in Finance and Business Management.

Ray L. Unruh, President, Secretary and Director

Ray L. Unruh is the President, Secretary, Acting Chief Financial Officer and a Director of Mesa Energy Holdings, Inc.

From March 1999 until March 2003, Mr. Unruh served as the Vice-President of Santa Fe Petroleum, LLC, and the President of its operating Affiliate, TexTron Southwest, LLC. During that period, he performed a variety of administrative and executive functions for both companies in connection with the oil and gas development and exploration activities undertaken by those companies in Shelby County, Texas. During Mr. Unruh’s tenure, TexTron drilled 21 horizontal James Lime wells in Shelby County, Texas, and TexTron became the largest gas producer in the county. Of the 2l wells drilled by TexTron in that field, 18 were commercially successful. As of January 2006, those wells had produced nearly 25 billion cubic feet (BCF) of gas and over 60,000 barrels of oil. In September 2002, TexTron drilled a Smackover oil well in Hopkins County, Texas, which was classified as a new field discovery well and produced, through April 2007, over 459,000 barrels of oil. Mr. Unruh left Santa Fe Petroleum, LLC, and TexTron Southwest, LLC, in March 2003 with Mr. Griffin to form and operate Mesa Energy, LLC.

James J. Cerna, Jr.

From 2006 to 2009, Mr. Cerna served as Chairman of the Board and CEO of Lucas Energy, Inc. (NYSE Amex: LEI). From 2004 to 2006, Mr. Cerna was President of the privately held Lucas Energy Resources. Mr. Cerna received a BS in Finance from the California State University, Chico, in 1990.

Fred B. Zaziski

Mr. Zaziski was President and CEO of Epsilon Energy Ltd. (TSX: EPS) from 2007 to 2009. From 2006 to 2007, Mr. Zaziski served as Chairman and CEO of PetroSouth Energy Corp. (OTCBB: PSEG). Mr. Zaziski graduated from Pennsylvania State University with a BS in petroleum engineering in 1976.

Kenneth T. Hern

Mr. Hern served as President of Texaco Saudi, Inc., between 1981-1984, as Vice Chairman and Managing Director of Texaco Nigeria Limited, from 1984 through 1989, and as President of Texaco Brazil, from 1989 through 1994. He retired from Texaco, Inc. in 1994 after 25 years of service. Mr. Hern earned a B.A. in Chemistry from Austin College, an M.S. in Organic Chemistry from North Texas State University .

Back To Top
Learn more about our news alert subscription. Your email address will never be sold. See our privacy policy.